Tuesday, April 30, 2013

New and forthcoming books

Peter V Brett – The Great Bazaar: Brayan’s Gold. Harper Voyager £9.99
Stella Gemmell – The City. Bantam £18.99

Peter Heller – The Dog Stars. Headline £7.99 (9 May)
Mark Lawrence – King of Thorns. Harper Voyager £8.99

Tom Lloyd – The God Tattoo. Gollancz £14.99
Michael Logan – Apocalypse Cow. Corgi £7.99 (9 May)

Sarah Pinborough – Poison. Gollancz £9.99
Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter – The Long Earth. Corgi £7.99 (9 May)

Cavan Scott & Mark Wright – Who-ology. BBC £12.99 (2 May)
Gavin Smith – The Age of Scorpio. Gollancz £16.99

Margaret Stohl – Icons. Harper Voyager £7.99 (9 May)
Charles Stross – The Traders’ War. Tor £9.99 (9 May)

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Whitstable by Stephen Volk

"1971. A middle-aged man, racked with grief, walks along the beach at Whitstable in Kent. A boy walks approaches him and, taking him for the famous vampire-hunter Doctor Van Helsing from the Hammer movies, asks for his help. Because he believes his stepfather really is a vampire…

In Whitstable — which deftly mixes fact with fiction — the actor, devastated after the recent death of his wife and soul mate Helen, is an inconsolable recluse. In that vulnerable state he is forced to face an evil far more real and terrifying than any of the make-believe monsters he tackled on the big screen. And here he is not a crusader or expert with crucifixes to hand — merely a man. A man who in some ways craves death himself, but cannot ignore the pleas of an innocent child…"

Stephen Volk's novella, Whitstable, is available from the Spectral Press.

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

New and forthcoming books

Eric Brown – The Serene Invasion. Solaris £7.99 (9 May)
Maurice Druon – The Strangled Queen. Harper Voyager £14.99

Al Ewing – The Fictional Man. Solaris £7.99 (9 May)
Christopher Farnsworth – Red, White and Blood. Hodder £8.99

Sergei Lukyanenko – The New Watch. William Heinemann £16.99 (2 May)
George RR Martin – Game of Thrones 3: A Storm of Swords Part 1: Steel and Snow. Harper Voyager £8.99
China Mieville – Railsea. Pan £8.99 (25 April)

Plus new Doctor Who books from the BBC, all at £6.99:

Nicholas Briggs – The Dalek Generation
Tommy Donbavand – Shroud of Sorrow
Justin Richards – Plague of the Cybermen

The Hobbit: Creatures & Characters

New from HarperCollins: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Chronicles: Creatures and Characters by Daniel Falconer and Weta, with an introduction by Andy Serkis, is a deluxe book, indeed. There are tons of photos and illustrations, enough to sate the appetite of many a fan of the Tolkien Middle Earth books -- it will make a beautiful gift. Out now, £25.00.

Saturday, April 6, 2013

The Whispering Horror by Eddy C Bertin

Coming soon from Shadow Publishing: "A collection of short stories and novellas by Belgian horror writer Eddy C Bertin. In a writing career spanning over forty years, his stories have been published in such prestigious books and magazines as The Pan Book of Horror Stories, The Year's Best Horror Stories and Cemetery Dance. Fourteen tales are included in this volume, from strange, hauntingly dreamlike stories, to tales of madness and madmen, to powerful horror yarns in the tradition of H P Lovecraft's 'Cthulhu Mythos'. Published in English, Shadow Publishing is the first to bring together a selection of the author's stories under one cover."